Young Researcher Award 2011

On 20th May 2011 the Erlangen Graduate School in Advanced Optical Technologies (SAOT) presented for the fourth time the "Young Researcher Award in Advanced Optical Technologies". The 2011 laureate is Prof. Zeev Zalevsky, Associate Professor at the School of Engineering at the Bar-llan University, Israel, who has made outstanding contributions in the field of super resolution and its use in biomedical applications. As award winner he will have the formal status of a guest professor during his stays at the SAOT when he spends the prize money of 100,000 Euros in close collaborations with several SAOT scientists. For the next few years he will set up a small working group in Erlangen to pursue optical investigations in his area of expertise.

The award underlines SAOT's objective to improve interdisciplinary research and education in development and application of optics and optical technologies, particularly at the interfaces between natural sciences, engineering and medicine. The Young Researcher Award in Optical Technologies strengthens the international networking of distinguished experts and provides a platform for the interdisciplinary exchange of innovative scientific ideas.

Following the Young Researcher Award, at the same ceremony "SAOT Student Awards" valued at 1,000 Euros each were presented to six SAOT doctoral candidates for their innovative work published in high-ranked international periodicals listed in the Science Citation Index in the ISI Web of Science. One prize was awarded in each of the six SAOT research areas: optical metrology, optical material processing, optics in medicine, optical material and systems, optics in communication and information technologies and computational optics.



Left to right: Prof. Leipertz (Coordinator and Director of SAOT), Prof. Zeev Zalevsky (Bar-Ilan University, Israel) and Prof. Grüske (President of the Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg)



Left to right: Prof. Leipertz, Prof. Grüske, Benedikt Schürer, Fabian Eisa, Kristina Noack, Markus Mayer, Rameez Asif, Feng Shao and Prof. Schmidt