SAOT Student and Innovation Award 2020

Symbolic picture for the article. The link opens the image in a large view.

Due to the exceptional circumstances caused by the ongoing COVID-19 crisis, the SAOT Student and Innovation Awards 2020 were presented online this year. The ceremony was opened by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Schmidt, Coordinator and Director of SAOT, who welcomed everyone to the event and congratulated all award winners on their excellent performance.


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Schmidt’s welcome speech was followed by a guest lecture by Prof. Dr. Peter Hommelhoff, Chair of Laser Physics at FAU, on the topic of The accelerator on a photonic chip: reaching extended interaction control”.





Six SAOT Student Awards, valued at € 1000, were conferred by Professor Will, Co-Coordinator and Director of SAOT, to SAOT doctoral candidates for their innovative published work. The prizes were awarded for a publication with the highest impact in the respective research area. All award winners were given the opportunity to shortly present their work to the audience.

  • Yakun He in the topic Optical Materials and Systems – Evidencing Excellent Thermal- and Photostability for Single-Component Organic Solar Cells with Inherently Built-In Microstructure”, Advanced Energy Materials (April 2019)
  • Tobias Staudt in the topic Optical Material Processing – „Temperature determination in laser welding based upon a hyperspectral imaging technique”, CIRP Annals – Manufacturing Technology (May 2019)
  • Ramon Springer in the topic Computational Optics – „3D simulation and beam quality improvement of a pulsed Cr,Tm,Ho:YAG laser“, Optics Express (July, 2019)
  • Matthias Knoll in the topic Optical Metrology – „Simultaneous study of molecular and micelle diffusion in a technical microemulsion system by dynamic light scattering“, Journal of Colloide and Interface Science (February 2019)
  • Ashwathama Dilipkumar & Lucas Kreiß in the topic Optics in Medicine – „Label-Free Multiphoton Endomicroscopy for Minimally Invasive In Vivo Imaging“, Advanced Science (February 2019)
  • Alexander Otterpohl in the topic Optics in Communication and Information Technology – “Squeezed vacuum states from a whispering gallery mode resonator”, Optica (October 2019)

The SAOT Innovation Award, endowed with 2.000 € and additional financial support of 20.000 € for the activities described in the project proposal, was presented by Dr. Johannes Knorr, Director of Administration of SAOT. The award was conferred to

  • Martin Hohmann to support his innovative research proposal “Towards nano-LIBS spectroscopy of cell organelles”

Martin Hohmann was also given the opportunity to shortly present his research proposal to the audience.


Screenshot taken during the presentation of Martin Hohmann.