Month: January 2013

The "Deutsche Gesellschaft für Gastroenterologie, Verdauungs, und Stoffwechselkrankheiten (DGVS)" conferred the endoscopy research award (15000€) to SAOT Junior professor Maximilian Waldner for his work on "Label-Free Imaging of Inflammatory Bowel Disease Using Multiphoton Microscopy“.

The German Association of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery for SAOT conferred her annual award to SAOT mentor PD Dr. Dr. Florian Stelzle for his work on Tissue-Specific Laser Surgery - Foundations and Transfer to Oral Squamous Cell Carcinoma.

SAOT Coordinator and head of the Lehrstuhl für Photonische Technologien (LPT) Michael Schmidt has received one of 42 MEGA Grants awarded by the Russion government to excellent scientists. The grant of 2 million Euros aims to initialize a laboratory on additive manufacturing process focussing on addi...

SAOT members Martin Wimmer, Alois Regensburger, Georgy Onishchukov und Ulf Peschel publish LETTER in Nature Physics. Optical diametric drive acceleration through action–reaction symmetry breaking DOI: 10.1038/NPHYS2777

Professor Helmut Neumann, who is also Mentor of SAOT, has been awarded the Endoscopy Award of the German Gastroenterology Association. The award comprises a prize money of 15000€, which is the prize with the highest renumeration in this field.

The two SAOT Guest Professors Ulrik L. Andersen, Technical University of Denmark in Lyngby (Denmark), and Zeev Zalevsky, Bar-Ilan University in Ramat Gan (Israel), have contributed two articles in the recent issue of Nature Photonics, Vol. 7 (2013), No. 8 - "Squeezing more out of LIGO" (Anderson) an...

During the SPIE Advanced Lithography conference in San Jose, California, SAOT Doctoral Candidate Viviana Agudelo Moreno has been awarded the "Cymer Scientific Leadership Award, Best Student Paper, SPIE Advanced Lithography 2013, Optical Microlithography Conference XXVI" for her oral presentati...

Professor Marion Merklein head of the institute of Manufacturing Technology and PI of SAOT has been selected as the recipient of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis 2013, which is the highest endowed German research award. Press release of the German research Foundation.

Professor Philip Russell one of the directors of the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light and PI of SAOT, has been elected Vice President 2013 of the OSA. As Vice President he will become president-elect in 2014 and OSA president in 2015.